How I Spent My Summer Vacation


Added August 22 2010 This was a segment with Jamie Durie, done for Sunday Night (ABC) in Australia

yes that’s me.  It’s not the way you would want to find your fifteen minutes of fame. Trust me.

Now besides that bit, I did get a lot of fishing in, in beautiful country.  Here is a teaser.

Just a view from the lower Frying Pan River, in Colorado.

Typical rainbow trout from below Reudi on the Frying Pan.


Yellowstone Cutthroat Trout

More to come,
Deb Freele

5 comments on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation

  1. Marc Beswick says:

    Hi Deb

    I wonder if you could help me? You posted about the late Dave Prothero in the past who was able to tie flies following a stroke. I have a friend who is recovering after a stroke and is keen to get back to tying some flies. Early attempts have been frustrating. Do you know any more about what techniques or tools Dave used to use? I know this may be a long shot but even the photo of Dave tying will be a motivation to my friend.

    I fly fish for wild brown trout in the Shetland Isles and spent a short but very enjoyable time on the Grand River Ontario last year pursuing Steelhead.

    Any bits of info, no matter how small would be great.

    Many thanks

    Marc

    • matokuwapi says:

      I watched Dave tie flies several times over the years, however, at the time, I wasn’t as focused on the tools he used as I could or should have been. I was just amazed at his ability to tie #32 flies with one hand! He did prepare and use a very sticky wax of his own making to help keep the dubbing on the thread. He also had clips of various sorts to aid in material management, on his vice. He also made a small ‘cup” for his glue (super glue) which he used a fair amount. (put a large brass screw into wood and reemed out the center to form a tiny bowl shaped cap. He’s put some super glue in that, then use a dubbing needle to put the glue on the fly. The super glue remained liquid as long as it was in the cap. (super glue sets when it’s introduced to anything that has H2o component)

      I’ll have to see if I can find some of his tying buddies that can help me with your question or see if any have any video of him. Also try contacting Project Healing Waters and Wounded Warriors Project for ideas. There are a lot of one armed tiers coming from the ranks these days.

    • matokuwapi says:

      You might look into contacting Jesse Scott.
      He invented a tool called the Evergreen Hand, for fly tying with one hand.

      http://www.flytyinggroup.org/EvergreenHand_homepage.htm

    • matokuwapi says:

      Check out this video about the Evergreen Hand and how it works.

  2. matokuwapi says:

    Here are more videos that show how the Evergreen Hand works as well as a couple of other tools for one armed fly fishing.

    https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=vb.207219125987618&type=2

Leave a Reply

